The Lost Van Gogh: A Novel (Paperback)

The Lost Van Gogh: A Novel By Jonathan Santlofer Cover Image

The Lost Van Gogh: A Novel (Paperback)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 26 2:45am
(CHILLS & THRILLS)

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER!

"Ingeniously plotted, irresistibly readable, brimming with inside information about the high-stakes art world of theft, forgery, and murder...Also included are brilliantly rendered drawings by the author, who is as accomplished an artist as he is a writer of suspense thrillers." —Joyce Carol Oates

From the author of the much-praised The Last Mona Lisa comes another thrilling story of masterpieces, masterminds, and mystery

For years, there have been whispers that, before his death, Van Gogh completed a final self-portrait. Curators and art historians have savored this rumor, hoping it could illuminate some of the troubled artist's many secrets, but even they have to concede that the missing painting is likely lost forever.

But when Luke Perrone, artist and great-grandson of the man who stole the Mona Lisa, and Alexis Verde, daughter of a notorious art thief, discover what may be the missing portrait, they are drawn into a most epic art puzzles. When only days later the painting disappears again, they are reunited with INTERPOL agent John Washington Smith in a dangerous and deadly search that will not only expose secrets of the artist's last days but draws them into one of history's darkest eras.

Beneath the paint and canvas, beneath the beauty and the legend, the artwork has become linked with something evil, something that continues to flourish on the dark web and on the shadiest corridors of the underground art world.

Alternating between Luke Perrone's perilous hunt for the painting, and a history of stolen art and stolen lives, The Lost Van Gogh is an intricately layered historical thriller perfect for fans of The Last Mona Lisa and The Night Portrait.

Product Details ISBN: 9781728258966
ISBN-10: 1728258960
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English
"The most prominent author of art-based mysteries takes his engrossing approach to a new level." — Sun Sentinel

"The Lost Van Gogh does everything the reader most admires about the genre: it’s a page-turner that follows compelling characters who not only dodge bullets — when they’re not firing them — but also engages in serious aesthetic and moral concerns regarding the value of art in people’s lives." — Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

"An investigation into both the anxiety of artistic influence and the power and pain bundled up in a timeless work of art." — New York Magazine

"Ingeniously plotted, irresistibly readable, brimming with inside information about the high-stakes art world of theft, forgery, and murder, Jonathan Santlofer’s The Lost Van Gogh tracks the history of a missing self-portrait by Van Gogh against the background of the notorious Nazi campaign against "degenerate art.” Also included are brilliantly rendered drawings by the author, who is as accomplished an artist as he is a writer of suspense thrillers." — Joyce Carol Oates

"Packed with international artworld intrigue and utterly delicious plot-twists, Santlofer keeps readers riveted in this intelligent and wonderfully textured thriller." — John Searles, New York Times bestselling author of Her Last Affair and Help for the Haunted

"Perfectly paced and plotted, The Lost Van Gogh seamlessly weaves together a mystery of unrelenting suspense with a fascinating tale about art and the dangerously criminal culture that surrounds it. A terrific read—one that only Jonathan Santlofer could have written!" — Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author

"The latest art thriller from Santlofer has historic European locations and appealing characters chasing down art stolen by horrible people...Give this novel to art enthusiasts, mystery lovers, and fans of Daniel Silva and Dan Brown." — Library Journal

"Santlofer offers sympathetic glimpses into Van Gogh’s life and puzzling death and the French Resistance’s valiant efforts to save Paris’ treasures as the Nazis’ systematically looted art belonging to Jewish collectors, stolen works still found in world-class museums. Illustrated with Santlofer’s drawings, this is a wholly engrossing, historically illuminating, and thought-provoking art thriller." — Booklist

"Intriguing...Jonathan Santlofer blends fact and fiction so seamlessly that reality is forced to take a backseat to the breathless pacing of his plot." — Shelf Awareness

"The relationship between Luke, who’s the great-grandson of a man who stole the Mona Lisa, and Alexis, daughter of a famous art thief, is rich and fascinating—the novel soars when they’re at the center." — Publishers Weekly

"Beauty and horror are wonderfully contrasted by Santlofer, both in the sad life of van Gogh compared to the incandescent art he produced, and in the clash of the love of art and the pursuit of wealth that takes advantage of that passion. Details of post-impressionist art and busting of myths around van Gogh (he wasn’t unknown as an artist during his life) are bonuses." — First Clue

"It’s hard not to draw positive parallels with the likes of The Da Vinci Code, with it’s short chapters and a story that keeps you hooked throughout." — FAD Magazine

"The Lost Van Gogh is a can’t miss novel of unforgettable suspense. Santlofer masterfully blends his art world expertise with a game of obsessions, razor-sharp characterization and thrilling prose to create a novel unlike any other—a riveting mystery that explores the weight of family and high-stakes art theft." — Alex Segura, bestselling author of Secret Identity

"The Lost Van Gogh is a kaleidoscope—a globetrotting thriller, a lesson in art history, a reminder of a crime against humanity that will never be expunged, but most of all a tremendously entertaining read." — Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of House on Fire

""Who doesn't love a book that keeps you up well past your bedtime because you MUST get to the end? Jonathan Santlofer’s The Lost Van Gogh is one of those burn-the-midnight-oil novels." — BookReporter" — BookReporter

"Jonathan Sant­lofer bold­ly takes on the ongo­ing saga of art that was loot­ed by the Nazis dur­ing the Holo­caust...This sus­pense­ful sto­ry includes fas­ci­nat­ing details about...Van Gogh’s life." — Jewish Book Council

"I was transported by this story that weaves together the sobering lessons of history with the power of hope embodied in the best works of art." — First for Women